Maryland real estate transfer tax & title insurance calculator



Maryland State FlagEasily calculate the Maryland title insurance rate and Maryland transfer tax; including the MD recordation tax (excise) stamps for a home purchase and refinance mortgage. Title insurance rates are not regulated in Maryland, therefore, title rates can vary between title insurance companies. This calculator will estimate the title insurance cost, transfer tax and recordation fee for 1-4 unit residential properties. Please send me an E-mail if you see an error or want to make a comment. Last updated 8/2018.

PURCHASE | REFINANCE |

  Maryland Title Insurance Rates
  Selling price of property  
  Mortgage Amount  
  County  
  Principal Residence  
  First Time Homebuyer  
 
  Transfer & Recordation Tax
      BUYER SELLER  
  County Recordation Tax  
 
  County Transfer Tax  
 
  State Transfer Tax  
  TOTAL  
 
  Title Insurance
  Maryland TRID calculations
  CFPB Owner's Title Policy Disclosure Calculation
  Basic Owner's Policy (Actual Premium)  
  Simultaneous Loan Policy (Actual Premium)  
  Stand-alone Loan Policy (Actual Premium)  
  CFPB - Owner's Policy Disclosed Amount  
  Title Insurance Premium Adjustment  
  TOTAL TITLE INSURANCE COST  
  Title Insurance Endorsements
 
  Closing Protection Letter (CPL) $20.00  
 
  Estimated Closing Costs
  Title Examination   $100.00    
  Settlement Agent Fee   $755.00    
  Deed   $43.00  
  Mortgage   $56.00  



Who pays the recordation and transfer taxes in Maryland?

On an existing home resale, it is customary in Maryland for the transfer and recordation taxes to be split evenly between the buyer and seller. If the home buyer is a first time home buyer, 1/2 of the State Transfer Tax is exempt, and the other 1/2 of the State Transfer Tax must be paid by the seller, by state law.

Title insurance rates in Maryland

The calculator was built with the First American title insurance rates as of 3/1/2017.

What is a reissue rate discount?

The title insurance rate can be discounted provided certain conditions exist. The reissue rate can be offered to a homebuyer when:

If the seller has owned the property for less than ten (10) years; and the home seller purchased an owner’s title insurance policy within that ten (10) year period

How much is the reissue discount?

The reissue discount is 40% based on the prior policy (seller’s policy) coverage amount. For example, let's say a homebuyer needs a policy to cover a $400,000 purchase, and the seller's existing policy coverage amount is for $300,000. The 40% reissue rate discount would apply to the first $300,000, and the homebuyer would pay full title insurance rate on the remaining $100,000.

Do I have to pay recordation stamps when if I refinance my mortgage?

Recordation tax stamps are paid on the difference between the outstanding principal balance the existing loan and the principal balance of the new loan. For example, if the current loan balance is $200,000 and the new loan is $300,000, the State Revenue Stamps would be paid on $100,000 ($300,000 - $200,000 = $100,000).